RSS Feed

My second afternoon tea event

This month’s theme for afternoon tea was a French inspired one so I got to try out a few recipes that I’d not done before including chicken liver paté and madeleines. Angie from Aspinall Ink, one of my guests and chief photographer for the day, commented that the madeleines were one of her favourites this time so I’ll be keeping them on the must do again list. 

It was nearly a full house – the 10th guest didn’t turn up unfortunately – but Lynn, aka Bakelady, gave me a good tip about hopefully avoiding this in the future. The guests were a mix of friends, acquaintances and newcomers and it was great to see conversations as well as the tea flowing from the off.


As well as the baking, opening up my home and meeting new people, what I love about these afternoon teas is the interaction between guests and what results in sharing of skills, expertise and even bartering. One guest will be taking photos for another in exchange for homemade sweets and a couple of us are organising a practice session making macarons.

It’s always sad when the last person leaves as you know that there are quite a few hours of washing up, cleaning and tidying up ahead of you. And the downside to offering leaf tea is that you keep finding leaves no matter how many times you wash the teapots up!

Finally, thanks to all my guests who made it such a lovely afternoon.

4 responses »

  1. It was an all round wonderful afternoon. Hope to visit again sometime.

    Reply
  2. A perfect afternoon, you have a beautiful home and the experience was charming.

    Reply
  3. As always, it was a pleasure! The Madeleines were delish!

    Reply
  4. M-C, Your cakes look delicious and everything looks very stylish. I wish I lived closer so I could join you for afternoon tea.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

