RSS Feed

Huddersfield Food and Drink Festival

Well that’s it. It’s all over for another year!

Even small children are sad it's all over!

But what a great festival it’s been. For me it all started over a week ago with the Taste Trail and Around the World with Wine tasting. You can read more about the day here. Unfortunately Leffe and Erdinger are not counted as real ale so I didn’t take part in the Real Ale Trail but seeing the amount of beer and cider sampling my husband has done over these last few days he deserves one of the ‘I took part … and survived’ t-shirts!
Thursday was a working day for me so while I slaved away at the office my husband spent the day at the festival sampling most of the hot food and beer stalls. I came along for the Mid Yorkshire Network event which was held in the demonstration marquee from 5.30pm. I provided my strawberry and cream cupcakes and we got to sample the famous Hinchliffe’s burger. It was a great event and good to see old faces and meet some new.


I managed to leave the office early on Friday and met up with my husband (yes he was there again) and friends to enjoy party night with Helter Skelter. The Star Inn’s fruit beer and Bradley’s giant Yorkshire puds with sausage and onion gravy hit the spot! It was fantastic atmosphere and so nice to see people enjoying themselves outside in the square until after 9pm.

Saturday came and perhaps foolishly I had agreed to join Cathy Burger’s Festival Team for the day (shouldn’t have had that last beer!) But Bolster Moor Farm Shop’s sausage sandwich soon woke me up and I spent most of the day working on the information stand. It was great to hear so many positive comments and see people enjoying themselves. And so many people! It definitely felt much busier than last year.


I also got to help out with the Ministry of Chocolate’s kids workshop and The Clough House Inn’s cookery demonstration. If you were queuing for samples of their pie at the end of the demonstration then you will have seen me doing my best impression of a dinner lady.

One thing I’d not been able to do up until that point was a bit of foodie shopping and wandering around the stalls. We managed to get there a bit earlier today and chatted to the lovely Chilli Jam Man, Yummy Yorkshire, Grumpy Mule and Demijohn and came away with a few purchases that I will using on my afternoon tea menus. We finished the day with lunch at Thai Sakon (my husband) and Mustard and Punch (me).


It’s been a fantastic few days, the weather has stayed on our side and the food and drink have been sublime. A big shout out goes to Cathy Burger and her team who work so hard to make it a success and as so many of the stall holders commented, it’s one of the best organised festivals they ever go to.  Roll on next year!

Cathy Burger - festival organiser

 

Leave a Reply

